Skip to main contentSkip to main menuSkip to side menuSkip to search
goto search page


It is particularly noteworthy that the Bonn Region is characterised by a high density and a unique combination of local science- and research institutions.

The Science Region Bonn hosts a wide and highly diverse range of universities and universities of applied sciences such as the University of Bonn, the locations of the universities of applied sciences in Bad Honnef, Bonn, Hennef, Remagen, Rheinbach and Sankt Augustin, the Alanus University of Arts and Social Science in Alfter and the Philosophical and Theological University of St. Augustin.

Apart from the universities and universities of applied sciences, this region also benefits from a number of highly active research institutions linked to organisations such as the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the German Aerospace Centre DLR, the Max Planck Society and many other important institutions like the Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology of Behavior – caesar, or the European Academy, for example.

It is unique to the Science Region Bonn to home influential, national science organisations like the German Research Foundation (DFG), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung/Foundation, the German Rector’s Conference (HRK), the Leibniz Association and the Helmholtz Association of National Research Centres and many more. 

Another feature of this region is the variety of national institutes which promote education as well as federal organisations for research and science such as the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB), the German Institute for Adult Education (DIE), the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices and finally the Federal Ministry of Education and Research with its headquarters in Bonn. 

Further highlights of the Science Region Bonn are for example the Wissenschaftszentrum Bonn with its excellent conference facilities and its national and international organisations, funded by the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, the Centre for Physics Bad Honnef, the Deutsche Museum or the Zoologisches Forschungsinstitut und Museum Alexander Koenig (ZFMK).

In order to provide better orientation the organisations and institutions mentioned above as well as further organisations are integrated into a map and are summarised under the following headings:


Research institutions

Science Organisations

Education, Information and Societies

Federal Institutions